Create a music note font to use in Word

Posted by: tombond1

Create a music note font to use in Word - 12/26/08 05:36 AM

I am a musician and I want to use in Word email text messages, a special font similar to the two notes joined by a beam (eighth notes) used in the icon for iToons. I just want the notes, nothing else. Is that out there somewhere, so that I can just install it as a special font in Word? Does it already exist? How would I do it?
Posted by: Bob82xrp

Re: Create a music note font to use in Word - 12/26/08 07:05 AM

Googling brings up lots of options for musical notation fonts, but if all you want is that one glyph, see the last paragraph of this web page. In the Unicode character palette, it's under "Miscellaneous Symbols".
Posted by: dkmarsh

Re: Create a music note font to use in Word - 12/26/08 07:35 AM

In System Preferences -> International -> Input Menu, in the scrollable list, put a check in the checkbox next to Character Palette. Then at the bottom of the pane itself put a check next to Show input menu in menu bar. (This is all assuming you don't currently have the Input Menu displayed, and the Character Palette listed in it.)

Now choose Character Palette from the Input Menu. Choose All Characters in the View pop-up menu, click the disclosure triangle next to Symbols in the left-hand pane, then click Miscellaneous Symbols. At the bottom of the right-hand pane you'll find a quarter note, an eighth note, beamed eighth notes and beamed sixteenth notes, as well as flat, natural and sharp signs. (Sundry clefs, fermata and a few related items are found in Musical Symbols, too.)